For you Cast Iron Junkies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• For you Cast Iron Junkies

Every now and then, we come across cast pans at garage sales. I know some of you collect them. Aside from the new stuff being made these days, is there really any difference in the casting/quality/brand of the old pans? Some better or more sought after than others?
    Just curious.
    https://youtu.be/ZcqprrIlbcIli

Good question, I'm kinda new to Cast Iron, so I will be interested in the answers also. What I like about them most is that they are pretty much indestructable and can go from stove to oven to grill to smoker, etc. You don't have to baby these babies. Put them to work, then pass them on to your kids, they should damn near last forever!
    sigpic

Comment

Yes, the metal is better in some of the older ones. Less impurities. Griswold, Wagner and Erie are some off the top of my head. Stay away from the foreign made ones. Never know what's in them.

I've also noticed that some have been overheated and warped on the bottom. It'll be buldged downward and rock on a flat surface, if you get what I mean. Pass on those.
      S-M Misfit #16

If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy. ~ Red Green

It's a shame stupidity isn't painful.

GOSM Propane
      CharGriller Kamado Cooker "The Akorn"
      New Braunfels Bandera
      UniFlame Gas Grill
      Lil Chief

Comment

Good point on the overheating bottom Ray.... Never seen it myself, but will watch for it...Always learning here...
        sigpic

Comment

i'm using one of my grand mothers and one i've had for ten years. they both seem to work the same.

my friend has one well over 100 years old that he uses on his chuck wagon. i don't know if it is any better but it is a lot cooler!!!
          Please ignore all spelling errors and typos my pet monkey does all of my corespondence

Comment