Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Amazon Kindle (wifi) and I know what you're thinking...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amazon Kindle (wifi) and I know what you're thinking...

'what's that mad limey up to now, how's he going to cook anything with an electronic book ????' Although you might not be thinking quite as polite as that

Now the main reason I initially wanted one is that I read a lot of books (3-4 a week, pretty much every week) I've been using my zaurus organisers for the last 10 years. To the extent that I've now worn out three keys on my current organiser and just can't afford to wear out any more.

I had a very good look at what was around and the new kindle is about as good as it gets and cheaper than everything else to boot !.

BUT (and here's where it starts to get relevant) it's not just fiction, At the moment I have 73 cookery and recipe books loaded on it. Most of them are searchable.

And it will either search through the book you have open, or from the home page through ALL the books you have on the kindle. Got 4 books on bread making and want a recipe for cinnamon rolls ? It'll search all 4 and show you which books have what.

That would be useful by itself but it gets better. You can make notes.

Find a recipe in a book and modify it slightly, just make a note in the book about what you've done.
    Say you've used a sauce or rub from the bbq book for dummies (excellent book and not for dummies at all) and modified it, just add a note detailing the modifications.

[IMG][/IMG]

The keyboard is very good, the keys require a firm press so you don't often hit the wrong one. There are various shortcuts that help a lot too.

It gets better. The kindle will read: pdf (limited display options), txt & prc (kindle/mobipocket format) out of the box.
    Also using the mobipocket publisher software (completely free) you can convert word files, pdfs, rtfs and html files directly to kindle format.