Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

MH jerky cure-MH jerky cure/yoshida's and CBP-MH jerky cure/SW spices and chipotles!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MH jerky cure-MH jerky cure/yoshida's and CBP-MH jerky cure/SW spices and chipotles!!

first off i have never made jerky in my life....i have been a jerk, i have beat a jerk's ass, and i have ....well nevermind! the point is i have never done this before so i may be the perfect guinea pig for this trial.

i made 3 different kinds since joe public will always mess with things so i thought i would do the same with one of them being the original recipe for a baseline. what i did was make the original recipe for 2.5# of meat (i used bottom round sliced 1/4" thin and then cut into 1/2" strips) and then i split the batch into 3rds. the 2nd 3rd, i made added 2T. of yoshidas and 1t. of coarse black pepper for a more "traditional" flavor. the last 3rd was a SW blend of spices and 2t. of ground chipotles from my garden......i wanted some heat!
    bagged up and i let cure for 19-20 hours....

racked them up and used bourbon oak barrel in the AMNS...

kept the temp between 150-170 for about 4-5 hrs.....

the original MHJ.........

MHJ/yoshida's and CBP.....

MHJ/SW spices and chipotles.....