Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• diffrent charcoals?

Hi guys
    Im new to the whole charcoal smoker thing and I was just wondering about diffrent brands of charcoal.my experiance is limited to royal oak briquettes and lump. Is there a diffrent brand with a less intense taste.
    is there such a thing? I think im like Hank Hill I want to taste more of the meat and less of the heat.what about another method wood,propane????

I almost only use Royal Oak lump. I have always been happy with the flavor. Here is a link to a site that does a pretty comprehensive review of all kinds of lump charcoal.

http://www.nakedwhiz.com/lump.htm
    Last edited by wutang; 06-17-2011, 11:56 PM.
    KCBS/CBJ #56408

"Sticks and stones will break your bones, but words will always teach you." -Shihan

Comment

Hey Rocam. The majority agree that Royal Oak lump is THE WAY to go. In my opinion it is what helps to give good bbq that true authentic flavor. If it is too much for your tastes then I guess...and I've never said this before in almost 20 years of smoking meats, maybe you should switch to a propane unit? Can't believe I just recommended this to someone as I am a purist and have never even used a gas burner but if you don't like it, you don't like it and I won't hate on you for it....but if we were hanging out I would give you a hard time about it! Just being friendly after several beers. I can't speak of a more mellow lump than RO but I can say that I have tried every brand available in my market and RO is simply the best one out there. The only other thing I would suggest is to make sure you are burning the coals down to practically all white before dumping them into your smoker. The coals tend to put off a more bitter smoke when they are igniting I've found.

Good luck and never stop experimenting.

Dave

Comment