ideas for a smoker

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ideas for a smoker

I have access to 6 pieces of 2x4x3/16 steel. Even though I want an insulated cooker I want to keep costs very low so maybe will insulate it in the future. I am not sure if I want an offset or a horizontal backwoods style. Can you burn wood in a horizontal? I am new to this so any advice on what you might do with this pilke of steel would be appreciated.

I can tell you that wood will burn just fine in an upright. but as for the best use of your steel, sounds like you have about 1/2 for an insulated. But others will be along BBQ-E in particular, can help you more than I.
    Mark
    sigpic

"Likes smokey old pool rooms, clear mountain mornins. Little warm puppies, children and girls of the night"?
    Smoked-Meat Certified Sausage Head!

Comment

Welcome to Smoked-Meat Jim.. With the steel you have I would look at making one like the Backwoods style.. You can make a horizontal offset if you wish but you may be short on materials building one like that... And yes you can use all wood in a offset if you wish, but it can be a PIA to learn how to use it and not have an over powering smoke flavor or creosote..
      Ken

I Should Have Been Rich Instead Of Being So Good Looking

Comment

Hey Jim Jake,

I built this one with a 4' X 10' sheet of 10 gauge steel. This type of cabinet is really amazing. You will never be disappointed with an insulated smoker.

http://www.smoked-meat.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6649

You may check with others such as Got14U as well. He may have additional ideas and has built quite a few.

Got14U, Meat Hunter, and Aczeller can also assist with any welding questions

BBally can model it for you if you want gnats ass flow rates.

There are so many on this forum that have awesome ideas to contribute, you definitely came to the right place.
        BBQ Eng.

The "Cow Girls" were adopted from the shelter, and found on petfinder.com.