Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• smoking whitefish

Hi guys,
    We are netting whitefish tomorrow and I was wondering if anyone has a general time -frame and smoker temp to start from. Going off last years catch fillets are about 1" thick and I am doing them in my vault clone.

Guess it depends on what you want...cooked? Or more dried? I'm no expert on fish tho.
    In God I trust- All others pay cash...
    Check out the Mad Hunky and products at https://madhunkymeats.com or https://www.facebook.com/MadHunkyMeats
    Lang 60D, The Beast, 18 and 22 WSM, Brinkmann Backroads trailer, Weber 22 Kettle, gutted MB burning watts

Comment

If they are small I like to brine them whole after removing the scales with a hose against the scales. They come off rather easy. Then score the fins off and a few places along the skin to allow the brine to penetrate. If whole I brine 48 hours.

For the larger ones I prefer to gut and steak then out scaled skin on. 24 hour brine on these.

I use my little chief at 165 with 2 pans of alder chips for 4 hours, and then finish in an oven at 230 if they still need more time.

Once finished peel back the skin, pull out the bones, or just pull out the tasty goodness.
      sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by SmokinTim View Post
        If they are small I like to brine them whole after removing the scales with a hose against the scales. They come off rather easy. Then score the fins off and a few places along the skin to allow the brine to penetrate. If whole I brine 48 hours.

For the larger ones I prefer to gut and steak then out scaled skin on. 24 hour brine on these.

I use my little chief at 165 with 2 pans of alder chips for 4 hours, and then finish in an oven at 230 if they still need more time.

Once finished peel back the skin, pull out the bones, or just pull out the tasty goodness.