Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pork butts cooking to fast.

Hey y'all,

I am new to the smoking. First off i am using a Cajun Injector electric smoker with a digital timer, temp and meat probe temp. I have verified the meat probe temp is correct.

The problem i keep having, is that the internal temps get there to fast. Tday i did a 8 lb Elk roast, brought it up to 145 deg removed foiled and cooler. went to cut it 2 hrs later and it was very rare. had to put the slices on the grill for a bit to please everyone. tasted amazing and was very tender though.

At the moment I have two 5 lb pork butts in and they reached 185 deg after 3.5 hrs. smoker temp is set at 250.
    How would you recommend I proceed? I am doing a 24 hr shift and cooking for 5 other guys.
    Always a privilege

So, your problem is your butts will be done "way too soon" ?

If that's the case, I would think you have 2 options depending on the time frame when they are going to be served.

1) Bring up to desired temp & pull or slice & refrigerate (overnight?) until you want to serve them & slowly reheat them up to serving temp.

2) Bring up to within a couple degrees of your desired finishing temp then double foil them & stuff into a cooler & pack the dead air space with towels, blankets, scrunched up newspapers..... They will stay HOT for several hours.
    sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by Montanasmoke View Post
      Hey y'all,
      I am new to the smoking. First off i am using a Cajun Injector electric smoker with a digital timer, temp and meat probe temp. I have verified the meat probe temp is correct.
      Have you verified that the smoker temp is correct? If your meat probe is accurate, it sounds like your smoker may be hotter than it says it is.

I have never had a 5 pound pork butt get to 185° in less then 7 or 8 hours and that's cooking them at 250° to 260°.

Dave
      CUHS Metal Shop Reverse Flow
      UDS 1.0
      Afterburner
      Weber Performer