fuel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fuel

This is my first time bldg uds and smoking in general. I assume I can use charcoal as a heat source and I sprinkle wood chunks on top of the charcoal? If so how much? Also can I just use hardwood like applewood ad heat source and for flavor?

Charcoal and wood chunks for a UDS.

One of the benefits of a UDS is that they will go for long times without any firebox maintenance...some of that benefit comes from the strategic fire placement (Lit pieces of charcoal) in the fire basket of unlit charcoal. As the fire progresses, lit pieces will ignite neighboring pieces and the fire will spread across the fire basket, and will provide heat and smoke for a much longer period of time. This is commonly referred to as the minion method.

Do some reading on the minion method for a more clear understanding.
    BBQ Eng.

The "Cow Girls" were adopted from the shelter, and found on petfinder.com.
    Adopt a homeless pet - http://www.petfinder.com
    I built the Iron Maiden - Iron Maiden Smoker Build

Over 5000 unreadable posts...Photobucket can kiss my ass...they will never get a dime. I will not pay a ransom.

Comment

And by "wood chunks" we mean CHUNKS....like fist-sized chunks, mixed in with the charcoal. Either briquettes or lump charcoal will work fine.... the lump tends to burn a little hotter, but can be controlled with air flow.

3 or 4 chunks usually provide plenty of smoke for most cooks.

L8r,
      Eric

Comment

I prefer lump wood in my UDS but many people use charcoal briquettes and they prefer that method. Either will work just fine. I put a handful of wood chips and then 2-4 nice size chunks of wood in my UDS when I run mine.
        Propane Smoke Shack
        UDS
        Great Outdoors Smoky Mountain
        sigpic

Comment

Now I'm really lost. Here is how I thought the process went...

Fill charcoal basket up kingsford charcoal and light, then add wood chunks to the charcoal.