Dehydrating Apples?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dehydrating Apples?

We eat a few apples around here, but not a ton. My father has been in the Lions Club for about 50 years & every year they sell boxes of apples from Yakima with the proceeds going to some charity. My 16 y/o helped box them & got a bunch of easy community hours for school.

So, they were a hot item at first, then everyone forgot about (aboot ) them more or less & a few started to turn. I thought of different ways to preserve them & decided on drying/dehydrating them, which I have never done before. So I did a little research & watched a couple of YouTube videos & ended up washing, taking core/seeds oot & slicing them 1/4" thick+- and they are in the dehydrator now...... Any other suggestions are far as what "dryness" I am looking for? etc? ..... I'm thinking a Mad Hunky & Apple chicken (or pork) sausage is in me future

Basically any comments in general regarding drying/dhydrating them, using them & or storage would be appreciated.....

sigpic

I've done it and covered them in lemon juice just so they don't brown prior to drying them.
    Don

Humphrey's Pint
    Weber Smokey Mountain 18.5"
    Weber Performer (Black Top, Stainless Steel Table Edition circa 2005)
    Blackstone Professional Series 36" Griddle
    Weber Spirit SP-310 Gas Grill
    Anova One Sous Vide
    AMPS
    Purple Thermapen
    Maverick ET-733
    DigIQ DX2
    Misfit #1674

sigpic

Comment

Tadowdaddy is on the right track...either some fruit-fresh, or a lemon juice and water bath will help keep them from browning. Usually the ones you get from the store are still kinda chewy, not crunchy.....I guess that's where I would prolly aim for dryness....

Don't forget about (aboot) some finish pics!!!

L8r,
      Eric

Comment

Originally posted by Earache_My_Eye View Post