Plan Critique

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plan Critique

I'm doing my biggest smoke yet this Saturday. Not big by the standards set here of course but big for me. Three of my wife's brothers and their families so it will be 8 adults and 7 kids. I'm planning on 2 butts (the ones I have been getting from the local Safeway are usually in the 5 pound range) 3 racks of baby backs, a batch of Dutch's beans, a dozen ABTs and a dozen MOINK balls. My wife is making a potato salad, fruit salad and we will have buns available for pulled pork sammies. Butts and ribs will go on the drum (I'll be using both racks) and the beans, ABTs and MOINK balls will go on the SnP.

Guests should be arriveing at 5 and we are shooting for dinner at 6 but would like to have everything done cooking to pull, slice, etc at 5:30. I figure the wild card will be the butts, but possibly the ribs as well since I've never used the drum with both racks before.

I am figuring on the following start times . . .
    • Butts -- 6:30 am
    • Ribs -- 1 pm
    • Beans -- 2:30 pm
    • Appetizers -- 3:00 pm
    If the butts finish early -- which I am hoping they will -- I will cooler them until it is time to pull.

Do these times and quantities seem reasonable to you folks or would you make any adjustments?

Dave
    Last edited by DDave; 05-05-2009, 07:58 AM.
    CUHS Metal Shop Reverse Flow
    UDS 1.0
    Afterburner
    Weber Performer
    Blue Thermapen
    Thermoworks Smoke with Gateway
    Thermoworks Chef Alarm
    Auber Smoker Controller
    Proud Smoked-Meat Member #88
    -
    "All welcome, take what ya need, share what ya know. " -- Richtee, 12/2/2010

Looks good to me!

Comment

yep it looks good to me too.
      sigpic
      GO GATORS.
      Raymond Cato
      MOJO SMOKEHOUSE BBQ TEAM.
      125 Gallon Stickburner yet to be named
      BBQ GRILLWARE STAINLESS CHARCOAL
      2 ecbs
      bbq pro offset
      18.5"WSM
      22" WSM
      22" WEBER OTS