Question about Canadian Bacon smoking temps

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Canadian Bacon smoking temps

I have some pork loins curing for a Canadian Bacon smoke this coming weekend, just had a quick question about smoking temps.

I have never done CB before but I have made Buckboard bacon from a boston butt. The instructions that came with the Buckboard cure kit stated to smoke at 150 degrees for 45 minutes then at 200 degrees until and internal temp of 140 is reached.
    But I have also read in other threads of people smoking CB at regular smoking temps 225+

I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts of the pros/cons of following temps similar to the Buckboard vs. higher regular smoking temps.
    KCBS/CBJ #56408

"Sticks and stones will break your bones, but words will always teach you." -Shihan

when i smoke my CB, i smoke at 250 till internals of 160.

on edit:

the cons of those temps you posted, to me, are a pain in the ass to maintain, unless you are using a gasser.

my cb tastes just fine when i do it this way. I also believe cowgirl does it this way, and i THINK jb1 also.
    Last edited by Walking Dude; 05-18-2009, 04:28 PM.

let us not cry because we lost someone, but let us smile because we enjoyed their company for what time was allowed us!

Comment

To my mind..loins should be kept to maybe 145 or so. There's no fat to render, and any that there is you wanna keep for frying. As it is..I always add a dollop of bacon fat for frying CB.
      In God I trust- All others pay cash...
      Check out the Mad Hunky and products at https://madhunkymeats.com or https://www.facebook.com/MadHunkyMeats
      Lang 60D, The Beast, 18 and 22 WSM, Brinkmann Backroads trailer, Weber 22 Kettle, gutted MB burning watts

Comment

Originally posted by Walking Dude View Post
        the cons of those temps you posted, to me, are a pain in the ass to maintain, unless you are using a gasser.