Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help me choose

Greetings all,
    This is my first post on this forum, other than the intro. I've been on a couple of other forums and am looking for some buying advice. My background in smoking is my first smoker was a bar b chef offset stick burner. It worked pretty good, but the usual issues of constant fire tending was a pain for a backyarder like me. So about 2 years ago I got a Masterbuilt XL propane smoker. It was cheap, big & convenient, but I have never been happy with it. Constant temp fluctuations was the major reason, even with a lot of modifications.

So I decided Im going to make the jump to a pellet smoker and have my choices narrowed down to 3 different grills. Im looking into the $1000-1500 range and my research has me pointed to a Green Mountain Grills Jim Bowie, Yoder, YS640 or a Fast Eddy PG500. There is a great store in Tempe Az, BBQ Islands, that carries all 3 brands. Obviously there are a lot of Yoder owners here, but what do y'all think about the other 2 models?

I'm headed that way this weekend to look at them and want to get your feedback too.
    Thanks in advance
    Mike
    Proud to be I.B.E.W.

PCa Sucks - But I WILL, No DID beat this!!

Yoder YS640
    POS ChinaMasterbuilt XL (demoted to cold smoking duty)
    Bull Big Bahanga gas grill

Of all the things I've ever lost, I miss my mind the most!

sigpic
    New Braunfels Bandera
    New Braunfels Hondo
    4-22.5" Weber Kettles
    1-26" Weber Kettle
    24"X72" Reverse Flow-Made in the U.S.A. by me
    Navy Corpsman-'69-'73 Semper Fi

https://www.facebook.com/highrollersbbq/

Comment

I have no experience with any of them but the Yoders are made in the USA and is the Fast Eddy built by Cookshack? If so, their electric smokers are (or were?) built in Oklahoma. Heard of Green Mountain butt dont know much aboot them.