weekend project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• weekend project

I'm here on me own this weekend so have decided to play with offset smoking on the outlaw (unless simons uds is done in which case I'll invite myself round there and play lol)
    So I've decided to give myself a weekend project.
    I'm going to make cornish pastys with smoked, pulled brisket.
    This gives me several things I've never done before. #
    1) never smoked and pulled anything
    2) never smoked on the outlaw
    3) never made cornish pastys (though lord knows I've eaten my fair share over the years lol)

So what I'm after is a basic rub for the brisket that will complement the rest of the pasty's ingredients. To whit: turnip, potato and oinion. I'm also going to do a few with stilton as well. As steak and stilton pastys are my absolute favourites :-)
    Traditional seasoning for pastys is just salt and pepper.

Weather forecast is looking good and it's light out till gone 22:00 at the moment, so conditions are ideal :-)

I'm thinking get something around a 5lb brisket, coat in mustard and then rub. cook it nice and slow to 160 then foil till 200 and rest.

So basic brisket rub recipe please :-)
    Made In England - Fine Tuned By The USA
    Just call me 'One Grind'

T-H's beef rub...heh... here's something to start with
    2 paprika
    1 onion powder
    1 garlic powder
    1.5 brown sugar
    1 ground rosemary
    1.5 Kosher salt
    1 CBP

Oh and a mustard slather
    In God I trust- All others pay cash...
    Check out the Mad Hunky and products at https://madhunkymeats.com or https://www.facebook.com/MadHunkyMeats
    Lang 60D, The Beast, 18 and 22 WSM, Brinkmann Backroads trailer, Weber 22 Kettle, gutted MB burning watts

Comment

And here's some advice from Capt Dan, CA

http://www.smoked-meat.com/forum/showthread.php?t=366
      In God I trust- All others pay cash...