Smoked Salmon - DRY BRINING.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smoked Salmon - DRY BRINING.

I have been using this recipe for over 10 years. I have made my own (slight) modifications based on fish size, outdoor temp and smoking apparatus.

This recipe will definitely get you were you want to go. #1 Hint - use quality product and take your time. #2 Hint: make sure you dry your salmon to a shiny pellicle (using a fan) which takes at least 3 hours, usually more. #3 Hint: smoke your fish @ 140F max until finishing.

Start to finish for me is easily 36 hours.

Kudos to AnglingBC and JustSmokedSalmon for the education:

Smoked Salmon Recipe
    Fish Tank
    from Victoria, BC

Smoked Salmon Recipe
    Here's my method for smoking salmon:

Begin with quality salmon fillets that have been cared for. I gut & gill my fish immediately and keep them very cold with ice. Don’t let your catch get warm. Pink salmon especially will quickly go mushy if not kept cold. There’s an old myth that for smoking, one can get away with some old lousy pieces of salmon that will be turned into gold when smoked. Not true. Your final result will be vastly superior if you start with quality fresh fillets. I prefer to begin the process with fresh, unfrozen salmon, but thawed will do – just make sure that all fillets are thoroughly thawed, usually taking a couple of days in the fridge, or longer if fillets are large.

Brine:

I honestly don’t understand why so many brine recipes include such large quantities of water – if any. The whole point of the brine is to draw out the excess water from the fillets, so why the bath? I’ve found that the dry brine mix works perfectly.