Need some heat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some heat

I NEED to know how I can make a large, hot jalapenos. I've been growing them for a few years in the ground and decided to put them in pots this year. Got alot this year but they were small and bland. I understand our growing season up here is short for peppers but I had peppers turning red a couple months ago. Tried habs this year as well, just got peppers to form a couple weeks ago. Tried one yesterday before it froze and it was bland as well. Although it was still green I figured it would have something to it. What's my problem?
    I'm buying started store plants by the way.
    MES SS
    Weber Kettle Gold 22.5"
    Weber Genesis
    Green Mountain Daniel Boone

Could very well have been the fact that you didn't know exactly what you were buying cause when they start them in the store you have no way of knowing what seed stock they came from in the previous year, what the pepper plant they saved the seeds from was grown next to and if it was something like a bell pepper then the plant would be weaker in heat.
    I've grown no heat jalapenos for the past several years and they literally are just that, all the flavor with none of the heat.
    For your peppers you should always feed them calcium because they use a lot of it up.
    Also temps and conditions make a difference in how big the plant grows and performs as well as watering.
    You should try to give them minimum 6 hours of sun a day but 10-12 is best, Only water them once a week if possible, twice a week if it's really hot.
    Don't let the plant get overloaded with flowers because it won't have enough energy to grow dozens of peppers to maturity all ripening at the same time if it is also putting energy into new fruits.
    Also don't let the plant flower and set fruit until it is well established and 1-2' tall depending on the variety.