I think I done good! Now I need some cast iron help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I think I done good! Now I need some cast iron help

Our food trailer had an auction to work yesterday and today. Which I smoked a whole sirloin roast, sold out very quick and a lot of compliments. And I was told my breakfast sandwich was the best they ever had. So I'm pretty happy. Anyways halfway through the sale some pans came up. The big one sold first so they had 3 left. They lumped them all together and I got them for a total of $6 The big one I think will be a dog pan. The bottom is shiny and it weighs less than the small ones.
    Got 2 of these, no writing on the whatsoever

There's a little rust on them, so what's the best way to clean these up and to season them. I'm very new to CI so any tips is appreciated.
    Towards the end of the sale they had 3 waffle makers. I passed on the first one hoping he didn't take them all and I could get them cheaper. Didn't happen 2 left and I paid more for them. Got them for $30 a piece. Quick look on eBay and I think I did good.
    Wagner size 8 pat. Feb 22, 1910

Griswold 8 pat Dec 1, 1908

Now the questions, do I need to season these? Can these be placed on the stove top? Any others tips would be great. Really excited about these!
    sigpic

Scour that bad boy really good with some steel wool and reseason it, you'll be good to go then! As for waffle irons, no idea. I would assume they need to be cleaned and seasoned real good then use the heck out of them.
    Phil. 4:13
    Scott

Comment

Originally posted by hit or miss View Post
      Scour that bad boy really good with some steel wool and reseason it, you'll be good to go then! As for waffle irons, no idea. I would assume they need to be cleaned and seasoned real good then use the heck out of them.
      Thanks, the waffle irons look brand new on the inside. So only have to wash them off cause they're dusty.