Salty jerky left my mouth like a desert

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salty jerky left my mouth like a desert

Hello everyone, I'm still trying to learn how to navigate this site so I hope this goes to the correct place. Anyhow I'm new to this whole smoking thing and would appreciate any help. The wife snagged me a Big Chief electric smoker and I thought I would try some jerky. Thought I would start off simple so I snagged a 5lb london broil cut er up and went with the "Easy Cure" meat jerky recipe that was in the recipes and operating instruction booklet that came with the smoker. It called for 5lbs of meat, half cup of non-iodized salt and a half a cup of sugar. I also threw in some black pepper, onion and garlic powder and a little crushed pepper flakes. I burned 2 pans of alder chips in the smoker and after about 12 hrs it looked finished.. So it smelled and looked delicious and the initial bite tasted smokey and great till ya chewed it for a while and realized you might be having salt shock. So salty that it had to be thrown out. Should I just reduce the salt in the brine or do you need it for the curing process. Anyhow it was a swift kick to the sack for the the first jerky run. Also what wood would you advise for jerky.

from Sunny Az, I have the same set up, I make my jerky using TQ as recomended by wt of meat for cure and then marinade it in Very Teriyaki over night and smoke the next day or so... Here is my link...

http://www.smoked-meat.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28124
    God, Family and Friends is what it's all about. Great food just brings them all together... First John1:9...
    Weber Performer Gold
    Masterbuilt 26" twins
    Big Chief Electric smoker
    Brinkmann barrel smoker
    LEM sausage stuffer
    Cabela's pro HD grinder
    Maverick ET-732
    ThermoWorks Thermapen
    GrillGrates

Comment

"Salt shock"