Making your own

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making your own

I see some of us on the board aren't in the USA. That may mean you can make your own booze at home without any legal hassles.

Way back in school days I saw this pamphlet, which I "still" own, in a gift
    catalog and decided to order it. I had always wanted to learn about the distillation of ethanol alcohol. (aka "Ever Clear", Grain, Moonshine) I had also purchased a kit for making my own beer & wine and leaned how while listening to the fermentation lock bubbling away on my first batch as I studied to learn more. I realized how inexpensive "booze" was when I was making my own. I already knew how expensive the stuff was when buying
    it at the "State Store".

So I'll address this to those outside the USA but anyone can join in if they like. If you are in the USA just think of this as using 100 proof Vodka purchased legally. (Vodka would be a low yield batch from your own still)

So, has anyone ever wanted to learn to make their own alcohol and then
    flavor it to produce their own liquor? If you have the alcohol you can literally do this.

Here is the pamphlet I have online. Directions for making any of several stills are included. Remember, this should be done outside but away from prying eyes. The vapors of alcohol in a confined area can explode.

There is an ingenious little electric heated still in this pamphlet made of a 1 1/8 diameter copper tube about 18 inches tall. You could make 3 of these and use them all together at the same time to distill a batch of fermented mash. Just imagine mounting these in an old brief case so you can set it up on it's end opened up with the three stills mounted on a hinged frame inside. =) Electric percolator coffee pots heating units work well for this and can be found for cheap in yard sales.

Give this site a moment to fully load and display the whole pamphlet.

http://www.expats.org.uk/features/al...tning.html#Top