Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stickburning Questions

Hello everyone,

I am new to stick burning, I've had my reverse flow for two months now. I was first wondering if there are any tips/mods for getting my offset to hold close to even temps from one side to the other. I generally have a difference of 25 degrees from one end to the other. Since it's a reverse flow, my hotter end is the end furthest away from the fire. My pit doesn't leak much either. It's 500 gallon smoking chamber is 3/8th gauge, and the firebox is a quarter inch and is 30X20 inches in size. The side grill and warmer/vertical smoker are both 3/16th gauge. I'm wondering if I need to add gasket. My second question is how to best manage my fuel consumption. I've been using about five or six splits to get her going, but when I use just one split per hour my temps drop off. I also choke down my firebox halfway on all four vents once I get my pit up to temp., (I have three vents on the side, and one in the back). I've also tried adjusting the pit to different levels to get the temps balanced.

Thank you for any assistance, I've been smoking on my Webers for years, and this stick burning is an entirely different experience!
    Attached Files
    Last edited by ChicagoBear&BullofAPitMaster; 09-12-2014, 10:19 PM.
    sigpic"I ONCE COMPLAINED THAT I HAD NO SHOES, UNTIL I MET A MAN THAT HAD NO FEET"
    26.75 Weber Kettle (2012)
    Blue Weber Platinum Performer (2013)
    Weber Go Anywhere charcoal grill (2012)
    Weber Jumbo Joe (2012)
    18 inch A-Maze-N Tube Smoker

www.facebook.com/bdbcateringco

Rich and a few other have a RF and should be able to help you out a bit..
    Ken

I Should Have Been Rich Instead Of Being So Good Looking

Comment

will let the reverse flow hot-rods answer the (slight)temp issue...

without question for starters I would try 2 splits on top of a good coal bed on reloads...

I know 1 split on reloads does not work well in my Durango 24,,,