Sausage Stuffer & Meat Grinder ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sausage Stuffer & Meat Grinder ?

For the "occasional" sausage maker, what would y'all recommend for equipment?.... Northern tool has a grinder/stuffer for about $60 that got good reviews & a 5# stuffer for $80 that looks pretty nice. I think meat grinders are about $100. Should I invest in the 1 "do it all" unit, or 2 components that cost more, but will make life easier? Just wanted some input. I currently have a "primitive" labor intensive system that works, but would like to get out of the Dark Ages......
    sigpic

I have been using there grinder for about 10 years now.. The 1000w.

Never had a issue with it.. It keeps on grinding..

Also I have the LEM 5lb. stuffer.. I wish I would not have spent what I did on it.. For 1/2 the price I could have had the 5lb. stuffer at Northern. The only difference is the LEM has metal gears and the other has hard nylon gears.. I purchased one for Smoke Doc xmas last year and he said no problems..

Some say they wish they had purchased the 15lb stuffer in lieu of the 5lb. I have no problems with refilling the stuffer.

So you can pay a little as 200 bones for a nice set up or drop 400-500 on one.. Its all relevant to how much you will be making, how often, and do you have the space to store the larger equipment ..
    Ken

I Should Have Been Rich Instead Of Being So Good Looking

Comment

Thanks Ken. After more thought, I think I will be going the way of separate components. What manufacturer built your grinder?. God if I could get 10 years out of anything I would be amazed. The $60 for the 5# Northern tool stuffer seems like a pretty fair price. I have read that some of the people that have it have not had any problems with the nylon gears. One of the reasons I want to step up the equipment is to make your Chicken & Sun Dried Tomatoe Sausage!
      sigpic

Comment