First cook on my new Yoder 640

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First cook on my new Yoder 640

OK. Here is my first cook on my new YS640. I'm new to pellet cookers but I knew after looking a while, it had to be a Yoder. I figured since I got to judge everything BUT ribs this weekend in the local County Cook off, I had to break in the new 640 with some ribs of my own. I was happy with the outcome and the wife said they were the best I had ever done. In the past she complains they are too spicy and I complain they never seem to be to my liking. This time they were a combination of just enough sweet and just enough heat. Plus the were fall off the bone. I did the 3-2-1 method on the ribs at 225 F.

I was a little concerned at the temperature swings I was getting on my Maverick. The Yoder controller was set to 225 and it tried to maintain with some swings down to 213 and up to 244 while the Maverick was consistently reading way higher. I had the grill probe set in the middle of the lower cooking grate and it had swings from @222 to @280. It was always reading higher than the controller, usually @ 30-40 degrees higher. I know the Yoder controller is a 90 second average, but it still seemed a little excessive.

I currently have the 640 placed in my breezeway and it was a little windy today, so I'm sure the wind was a factor to some extent on the swings. I guess I will be relocating it somewhere not so prone to wind.

I am going to borrow another Maverick from a buddy and do a temp. test in several locations so I can get a better idea what's going on. I'm sure over time I will get the hang of it.

I plan on getting some nomex gasket and sealing the lid very soon to help with the potential of draft issues.

Anyway....Here are the results of my first cook.

Ribs and bacon just going on.

[IMG]http://i59.***********/2rntrf5.jpg[/IMG]

Bacon hot off the grill

[IMG]http://i57.***********/1492m44.jpg[/IMG]