Bacon Anyone? I Got Plenty!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bacon Anyone? I Got Plenty!!

Today I smoked Buckboard Bacon and Canadian Bacon. It's my first time doing either one, and they both turned out awesome. So this will probably become on of those things we do all the time. I didn't take a lot of pics from the beginning because I was afraid of failing this one. So here is what I have.
    I used a dry cure for the BBB and a wet cure for the CB.

Buckboard bacon after smoking to 140°. I cured with a pretty basic salt (Prague) and sugar rub for 8 days, then brushed with raw honey and covered in coarse black pepper, and smoked in apple.

Sliced and ready to vac pack for a short nap in the freezer. I say short, because I ain't eating my belly bacon until I run out of this. If my wife and kids eat it, you'll see me on the front page of the local news paper.

Pork loins for Canadian Bacon after trimming and right before going into cure container.

Canadian Bacon here just after coming out of the smoker. Took this to 160 so I could eat it cold.

This is a little salty, so I'll have to adjust that next time. But all in all, very good and you can really taste the apple. I didn't use any additional rub or anything to coat the outside with. Just wanted it plain. I may try pepper next time or sugar. Nevertheless, here it is sliced up and ready for packing. Gonna have this with Eggs Benedict.

Thanks to all you guys that have posted threads on either of these types of bacon and to you guys that have helped either by a direct post or by PM. I really appreciate it. You guys are the best. And thanks to the rest of you for looking at my latest experiment.

Tom

Ahh nice cure on the BBB, Gunny. Sooo outta curiosity- what is the radius of that hunk?
    In God I trust- All others pay cash...
    Check out the Mad Hunky and products at https://madhunkymeats.com or https://www.facebook.com/MadHunkyMeats