Newby help please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newby help please

As I stated in the new members introduction threads, I am new to smoking and have alot of questions. I have a Big Chief electric smoker and will be attempting to smoke a chicken. As its important that I get this right (after the first and last fiasco at trying this, my wife rolled her eyes when I asked her to buy a small bird today) I would like to ask what is the best and easiest way, if there is one, to do this. Going thru some of the posts here I see where some use a brine and others don't. Whats the difference? What type of wood would be best (I have a bag of cherry shavings) What type of rubs and seasonings would be best for a first timer and whats up with beer cans!?! Any help you may care to offer will be more than greatly appreciated.

Denny..I'm sorry to say that that Little Cheif will probably not generate the BTU's you need to safely do a chicken.

Any LC owners tried this?

MAYBE a small one, spatchcocked. Forget the beer can. Spatchcocking is cutting out the spine from rear thru neck with HD scissors. You then lay the bird "flat" and get much better heat transfer.

You have some other questions there, but they are prolly irrelevant because of the smoker. And I gotta run...don't wanna misss the puck drop at 3 ;{)
    In God I trust- All others pay cash...
    Check out the Mad Hunky and products at https://madhunkymeats.com or https://www.facebook.com/MadHunkyMeats
    Lang 60D, The Beast, 18 and 22 WSM, Brinkmann Backroads trailer, Weber 22 Kettle, gutted MB burning watts

Comment

Ahhh WAIT a BIG Chief! Now I'm not sure here...Hmmm do they have the stuff people?

On edit... I see 450 watt element. You are going to need to maintain at least 250° consistantly for poultry. Can the unit do that?
      In God I trust- All others pay cash...
      Check out the Mad Hunky and products at https://madhunkymeats.com or https://www.facebook.com/MadHunkyMeats