Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• chinese rib flavour snackstix

Bit of background for you non-brits :-)
    I reckon at least 90% of all ribs eaten in the uk are eaten in chinese restaurants.
    People rarely cook them at home and never smoked like you guys.
    Now as I'm gearing up to start selling my smoked/cured goods to a culture that really isn't into all things jerky like. I figured I'd come up with a flavour everybody knows and loves.
    So this is my chinese rib flavoured cured meat - makes really great jerky and this is my first try at smoked rib snackstix :-)

The recipe

5lb lean pork shoulder, cubed
    2 oz cure & salt - correct amount of cure with sea salt added to 2oz
    2 oz sugar (white or brown whichever you prefer/have most of)
    2 heaped tsp chinese five spice powder
    1 tsp my ginger mousse or 2 tsps dried ginger
    1 1/2 tsp cbp
    1 tsp dried garlic powder
    1 tsp celery powder
    2 good tbs honey
    1/2 cup fine oats
    Approx 4floz jack daniels or whatever whiskey you use for cooking (in our house All whiskey is cooking whiskey as none of us drink it lol)

Grind all spices together and add to the meat. Mix well.
    Add the whiskey and and honey and mix well.
    Add the oats and (yep) mix well.

Grind twice through a very coarse grid - this is not the same as grinding once through a fine grid (I use the grid that's just big triangles)
    Mixture will be firm and quite sticky. Sorry gunny, I was in a hurry ;-)

Either stuff and leave overnight or leave overnight and then stuff into slim collagen or narrow sheep casings.

I stuff into one long roll and then twist into 7-8 inch lengths.

Treat as for jerky, smoke at around 150-160 for 6-7 hours. or run through dehydrator at 155 or combination of both.
    This is the setup I've got in the outlaw at the moment - running around 160 (ish) lol
    I tidied up the charcoal after the pic was taken.