TEST-KitchenAid Stand Mixer as Meat Mixer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TEST-KitchenAid Stand Mixer as Meat Mixer

I posed a question in another forum asking if a stand mixer, specifically my new KA Pro 600, would make an efficient meat mixer. The replies were less than favorable, for a number of unfounded and untested reasons. So I decided to take my chances with 10 lbs of pork butt and 1 lb of cheese and try it myself.
    I made cheddar brats, and will post my results here as well as there.
    I am including 2 videos as well as a couple of pics. This is my first time uploading videos, so be nice to me, as I'm no pro.

Here's what I had after grinding about a 10 1/2 lb pork butt.

As a side note, if any of you have seen and questioned these EZ grind attachments, my review goes like this: Absolutely awesome, well worth the 50 bucks. With my little Dewalt drill, it takes about 3 minutes to grind 10 lbs, and the drill never slows down. The grinder is a 20 dollar #10 cheapo Chinese Walmart job.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZqaBXbio7-8&amp;hl=en&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></object>

Here I start with my ground butt and added spices, no water in this test. Wanted to see how it would do dry. After grinding, this weighed at 10 lbs exactly. After about 40 secs the seasoning seemed fairly well incorporated.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/MnrcSjvKc_U&amp;hl=en&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></object>

This is after adding 1 lb of cheese. This is too much for the 6 qt capacity of this bowl, but all in all it turned out pretty well.

Here is the pork after mixing with the KA. Looks pretty decent.