Smoked Bone in Turkey Breast

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smoked Bone in Turkey Breast

I have to admit I have never done a bone in turkey breast before. After I unwrapped it, all it really was is a turkey without any legs/dark meat. This one was 9 lbs and got it on sale for $.99 a lb so I figured I'd give it a shot. My plan was to brine it. I'll admit when I bought it, I didn't look at the label. Went I went to brine it, I noticed it had been packed in a 15% solution. So, I put it in a pot of water to remove the solution. I left it for 8 hours. When I drained it, it was easy to see the color change in the water as well as smelling the solution. I figured it probably already had enough salt in it so when i made the brine ( not technically brine on this one) I didn't add any salt. I just added brown sugar, onion powder, garlic powder. a cajun spice powder and some celery seed and let it go over night.

I smoked it with pecan. I started at 275 and let it ramp to 315 degrees with the intent of tenting the bird at 165 internal. To prep it after the brine, I melted 1 stick on unsalted butter and added oregano, parsley and thyme. I injected some of it and then coated the skin with the rest:

I also stuffed the cavity with sliced apples and oranges. I added orange juice to the bottom of the roaster as well. I basted every 30 minutes after the first hour from the drippings in the pan. After 3 hours, she hit 165:

I cut out the breast and then sliced them up for dinner. I have to say, this is by far the most tender and juiciest turkey I have ever done. I did change my recipe from the way I do a whole bird. I think I'm going to stick with this one the next time I do a whole bird and see what happens. I actually tried cutting out the wish bone for my son and it didn't make it. It was too tender in that regard and broke in half. To me, it was a good sign, to my son, disappointment.