Cheese smoking temp?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cheese smoking temp?

I am new to the cheese smoking concept Amd was wondering if actually need any heat at all when doing this. I smoked my first Batch a few days ago and was able to keep smoke on it for three hours with no heat at all registered on the temp guage. For some reason I just feel I need a little heat to allow he cheese to soften and allow the smoke in. I was reading the other posts prior to trying it and noticed most people were targetting 70 degree mark. Am I just overthinking it or do I need a bit of heat?

For best results smoke the cheese under 100* ... 90* or so would be great.. You would be surprised how fast some cheese takes on the smoke...
    Ken

I Should Have Been Rich Instead Of Being So Good Looking

Comment

If temps stay low there is no danger of melting the cheese. Im not sure that heat contributes to smokiness or not. I like to dry my cheese overnite, unwrapped, in the fridge before smoking...Im not sure, but I think that the dryness allows the smoke to do its trick...In less time...I've rarely left cheese in the smoke for more than an hour....
      Craig
      sigpic

Comment

The way I have done it in the past and it seems to work the best for me is to let the cheese get to room temp.Then I just use a couple lit briquettes and some chips let it go for a couple hrs.The hard part is letting it sit in the fridge in a zip-loc for a few days I think it helps the flavor alot.Hope this helps

Raymond
        sigpic

Certified Sausage Head

Comment

Originally posted by Critterhunter View Post
          The hard part is letting it sit in the fridge in a zip-loc for a few days I think it helps the flavor alot.Hope this helps

Raymond
          The longer it rests... the better...

And I dont think I have ever seen mold show up on smoked cheese

Craig
          sigpic

Comment