Arrachera(marinated skirt steak) Tacos with Pics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Arrachera(marinated skirt steak) Tacos with Pics

Back in the day when I was a line cook I had he pleasure of working at alot of different restaurants and learning different cusines. I also learned alot from my fellow cooks from Mexico. I was often treated to food they made at home, and sometimes we would chip in and buy product to cook lunch @ work. One of my favorites was a marinated skirt steak dish called arrachera.

The marinade is lime juice, minced jalapenos, minced garlic, salt, pepper, and olive oil. The skirt steak is run through a meat tenderizer @ the butcher shop, and then the marinade is rubbed in. I let this batch marinade for only 1.5 hours. The lime juice starts to "cook" the meat giving it an almost twice grilled taste. I also took some whole jalapenos and put some oil on them and sprinkled tem with kosher salt for the grill.

Tacos were pretty traditional)I prefer flour tortiallas to corn tortillas): diced raw onion, cilantro, sliced avocado, & crumbled queso fresco). a bite of the grilled jalapeno, and then a bite of the taco was awesome.

skirt steak:

rubbed with the marinade:

jalapenos:

arrachera on the Weber kettle:

done(maybe 5-7 minutes total on the high heat):

sliced against the grain on a bias, and then chopped:

my plate of tacos(made a good lunch):

thanks for checking out my pics and post.
    Just because you welded some shit together doesnt make it a WSM.

Twitter: @GrubSeeker

Looks great!
    "I'm the 82nd Airborne, and this is as far as the bastards are going."
    PFC Martin, 325th Glider Infantry Regiment, Battle of the Buldge

Comment

thanks Vlap,

I made sure to save a little for some tacos for supper tonight after work.

Comment

Loving that flavor....I could definetly see making some large batches in future for some quick meals...Thanks for sharing jim... if i have them...

Comment

thanks alex,