Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

English Mincemeat And What To Do With It :-) (yep, finally lol)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• English Mincemeat And What To Do With It :-) (yep, finally lol)

Okay I've been threatening this for a few years and I believe I did post it up on smurf many years ago for an english ex-pat.
    Don't worry It got 'lost' in one of the crashes - jeff don't have this

Right a little background

Essentially in england mincepies are the quintessential christmas period food of choice. They are sold in supermarkets by the millions (I'm not exaggerating here). And thousands of tons of the commercial mincemeat is sold in jars.

This commercial stuff - even the 'luxury' brands - are usually 40% plus sugar, some dried fruit, bugger all booze and has suet.

My tai-chi teacher is diabetic - so some years back I developed a no-added sugar homemade mincemeat. It's been refined and improved year on year to produce the following recipe, which is hands down the best mincemeat I've ever tasted and I probably eat my own weight in mincepies of one kind or another every year

Suet is unnecessary, as is any added sugar. I just use fruit, spices and booze.

So to start with here's the basic recipe.

Basic recipe

250gm raisins
    250gm sultanas (golden raisins)
    125 gms currants
    1 large cooking apple or 2 dessert apples - peeled and grated.
    juice and zest of 1 large or 2 small oranges
    2 tsp mixed spice
    good glug of cointreau, vanilla vodka or brandy - or a mix of any 2 of the three.
    The above amount will make about 2lb of mincemeat.

The production process is essentially the same for small or large amounts.

These days I usually make up about 15lb at a time:

This years ingredients. The apples I picked up in the garden :-)