1st Try at Dutch Oven Cooking - Store Bought Biscuits

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1st Try at Dutch Oven Cooking - Store Bought Biscuits

Yes, I said store bought. I decided this was the year to learn how to use a 10" DO that I have had a couple of years, and do some outdoor cooking at the farm. I decided to start with something simple but I left all my information I had about DO cooking at home and I wasn't sure how many coals to use. So I put 10 under and 10 on top. I know that was not correct but my biscuits baked OK...just took them a little longer than normal. Next time I will not leave the temp chart at home and I will also put the coals on the bottom in a ring.

Sorry if this bores you DO pros, but again, I'm just a beginner.

Is it OK to put this directly on the ground or should I have a piece of metal under it?

Fried potatoes and country ham in foil on Little Joe

Didn't turn out bad at all.

And the leaves are starting to change...

Thanks for viewing my experiment. Lid lifter and lid holder on my shopping list. I'm open to any criticism, suggestions and / or tips. And ideas for what to fix this weekend.
    Becky

https://www.facebook.com/jennie.r.smith.77?ref=tn_tnmn

Weber 22.5" One Touch Gold Kettle - Black
    Weber 22.5" One Touch Gold Kettle - Copper
    1993 Weber 22.5" Master Touch Kettle - Red
    Weber 18.5" One Touch Silver Kettle - Budweiser
    Weber Smokey Joe
    Multiple Dutch Ovens and other Cast Iron
    Pink Thermapen
    Purple Thermapen

Awesome Becky! I recently purchased a tri-pod for my DO. Just waiting until it cools off enough to do a little experimenting meself. What book do you have?

Comment

Looks really good Pioneer Becky.
      sigpic

Comment

Looks delicous....

Most of my D.O. experiences is with stews....My brother real good at the biscuits and dessert...