Too fast, too soon!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Too fast, too soon!

Help! 20lb prime rib at 125' about 6hours before dinner time. Shall I foil when ready and cooler? Trying to finish as low as I can go. Any help would be fabulous. Please thank you.
    GMG Bowie pellet pooper
    Masterbuilt upright gas smoker
    Weber Elite gasser
    Various Thermoworks devices-Love them!

I am not an expert on prime rib, but I would foil it and let it rest in a cooler.

Like a butt it will continue to cook, temp may even rise 5 to 10*F and it will hold temp with the cooler. sounds safe to me

Good luck
    Last edited by crusty ol salt; 12-25-2015, 01:02 PM.
    Island of Misfit Smokers Member #92

How to heal the world. Love people and feed them tasty food.

sigpic

Comment

Foil it. Faux cambro. It will be fine. Foil, set it in a pan. Into a cooler. Fill the open space with towels and such. Don't open the cooler until it's time to prep he meal. Tender and juicy!
      sigpic

Some days I think Bravo Zulu, other days it's more like Whiskey Tango Foxtrot...

Comment

If you foil n cooler it. I would pre heat the cooler with hot water to heat it inside first. Drain water of course, add foiled beef, then fill all air areas of cooler with towels. Maybe insert a probe thermo before closing lid so you know where its at temp wise.
        sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by jwbtulsa View Post
          Foil it. Faux cambro. It will be fine. Foil, set it in a pan. Into a cooler. Fill the open space with towels and such. Don't open the cooler until it's time to prep he meal. Tender and juicy!
          Yup... X2.

Drinks well with others

~ P4 ~

Comment

Wait, what I meant to say is just trash it. Vac seal the meat. Put it in a container with some dry ice and ship it to Tulsa. We will dispose of it accordingly.
            sigpic

Some days I think Bravo Zulu, other days it's more like Whiskey Tango Foxtrot...

Comment

Just trying to save face! Or my rear!