Questions about smoking or pickling fish

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about smoking or pickling fish

I've never done either, so total newbie here. So bare with me if some questions might be stupid. I caught a couple of nice carp today. I love fried carp but the wife doesn't because of the stickers. Beings we got a couple bags of panfish in the freezer I thought I'd try something different.

Smoking-Kutas book has a brine to do it but I don't have a salinometer, so that way is out. But could I go with a dry cure? If so could somebody share a recipe? Will this take care of the stickers or not. Not a big deal on that.

Pickling-Kutas recipe says to cook the meat in the brine. I looked at Erain's recipe on here and his didn't say it was cooked. Is that correct. I've only have had pickled herring so is that stuff raw? I know this method gets rid of the little bones.

I'm not sure which route to go yet cause if the bones remain in the smoked ones the misses might not care for it and she hates pickled fish. Any help is appreciated. What I caught was 2-23". Got 2 nice filets and 2 filets that are a little rough. I'm new to the fileting. Thinking about smoking the 2 nice ones and pickling the other ones.
    sigpic

Originally posted by Ryan View Post
    I looked at Erain's recipe on here and his didn't say it was cooked. Is that correct. I've only have had pickled herring so is that stuff raw? I know this method gets rid of the little bones.