so i got my first stick burner... school me on firebox

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• so i got my first stick burner... school me on firebox

So i got my first stick burner. Down the road I plan to buy a yoder ys1500 but thats about 2-3 years away.

So i got a cheap brinkmann trailmaster limited edition. The companys bankrupt now so they give them away basically at home depot to clear out inventory. I actually picked up two of them.

Anyways... i did some mods after reading the forums. Pickup up a real nice baffle plate kit, sealed the whole thing with hi temp silicone, installed gaskets for firebox lid and cook chamber lid. Got some toggle clamps to seal them real tight. So it brings it up a level or two. It's almost time to season it and test it out which leads me to some questions to ask you pros since i'm a newbie.

I noticed which this smoker a lot of guys built expanded steel boxes (minion boxes they nickname them) and feed bricket wood coals to them or mix in chunks of wood. I assume maybe fire and heat management is easier this way?

See i have a face cord of split hickory wood not small chunks of wood. If i run regular split logs is heat management gonna be a pain in the u know what? The baffle plates supposedly work good for even heat but I wonder if a whole split log is going to be way too much.

Also how do you guys light them? With a charcoal chimney then place wood on it or?

Worst case I could cut the wood into chunks but thats a pain. Not even sure how i'd do it. I have a badass compound miter saw that could maybe rip thru them but not even sure how safe that is lol.

So really i'm looking for some advice on firebox management and best practices. I realize good heat management on a high end unit with thicker gauge metal is easier but i'm looking to make the best with what i have right now.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by gerard143; 06-30-2016, 08:10 PM.

Some very good questions...