How cold is to cold

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How cold is to cold

Hi everyone i love this forum as i am new to the smoking thing. And i love it. I just wanted to see what the opinion of how cold would be to cold to smoke cheese? As i live in canada and right now the temp is about -15 to -20 degrees c right now. Would this be to cold or just have to smoke it longer. I have a 40" MES GEN 2.5 and an AMPS for the smoke.

Yes that is cold....I thought it was bad here at -5. My advice is try it.

Me personally would be looking at the smoker from inside a warm house.......

My take on it is the cheese you are smokeing is going to start out at 40 to 80 (room temp) once added to a smoker that has some sort of smoke going on, it will take on smoke and take a while before it would get below freezing temps.

Comment

Having been raised in Arizona I'm not the World's authority on cold temps bhut I would think at -20° you would have to add some heat or you will have cheesecicles before you know it. Last I heard smoke doesn't stick too well to ice.
      Be careful with the heat though or you will join the ranks of Richtee Cheese Smokers Anonymous...

Not to mention the occasional campfire

My --->
      Paul

Comment

All I can say is my MES 40 used to work Great down to & below Zero.

These last few years it doesn't work below +20°, but I think it's because nobody's out there to plug it in !!!

Bear
        Vietnam Vet---9th Inf. Div. Mekong Delta (1969)
        Easy to follow Step By Steps: Pulled Cured Boston Butt Ham and Buckboard Bacon--Smoked Salmon-- Bacon-On-A-Stick--Bacon (Extra Smokey)--Boneless Cured & Smoked Pork Chops & CB--Canadian Bacon & Dried Beef--Ham Twins (Double Smoked)--Double Smoked Hams X 4--Bear Logs (All Beef--Unstuffed)--Smoked Bear Loaf (All Beef-Mild Hot)--Prime Rib (My Best ever)--Another Prime Rib--Chucky (Pulled Beef)--Twin Chuckies--Pork and Beef Spares--Rare Beef (for Sammies)--Raspberry Chiffon Pie---