Pork butt on MES30

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pork butt on MES30

Plan on smoking a pork butt this weekend..every butt deserves a good rub. All rubbed up and in the fridge. First time smoke for me. I am using my A mazen smoker filled with hickory pellets. On which side of the smoker do i put the box? Do i need to use a water pan on the bottom? Im sure to have more questions since its my first time...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk

I have been playing with a mes 30 and today it was so humid the pellets went out on me. I see some guys are microwaving them first, also if you pull open the chip loader a little and the chip burner pan a little too to draft it. On previous cooks though it seemed fine. Every cooker I have tried the amazin pellet smoker in I needed 2 go'S at it

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Comment

I have not had a MES in several years, so cant really remeber how they are configured near the bottom/heating element. Butt, my guess would be place it on the opposite side of the heating element. Might check Bearcarvers posts, he has A LOT of posts using the MES, and placement of everything imaginable.
      sigpic

Comment

Yup, talk to Bearcarver! He's the MES Guru! I'm sure he will respond soon enough.

Comment

Originally posted by grantw View Post
          I have been playing with a mes 30 and today it was so humid the pellets went out on me. I see some guys are microwaving them first, also if you pull open the chip loader a little and the chip burner pan a little too to draft it. On previous cooks though it seemed fine. Every cooker I have tried the amazin pellet smoker in I needed 2 go'S at it

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
          I pulled the chip pan and loader out of mine, lot's of air flow to the Amazing Maze! I also pulled the H2O pan also, not really useful IMHO.

Comment