What is the real temperature???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the real temperature???

As a newbie I have a ton of questions and expect that I will find most of the answers here. I have an expensive piece of meat that I will be smoking tomorrow and want to get it right. I have a temperature puzzle that I need sorting soonest.

I got myself an ECB smoker two months ago and modified it immediately. Added two Brinkmann Temperature bimetal thermometers (only ones Home Depot carried) to it. I calibrated these thermometers using boiling water as a reference before installing. They read ~215F when in the water. I also bought a ChefAlarm thermometer with meat probe. I checked the calibration of the probe and it was perfect.

I did a few smokes with the Brinkmann Temperature bimetal thermometers telling me that I was smoking at 220-240F. The meat probe readings were proved once the meat was carved. All seemed well.

I then bought an air temperature probe with grate clip for the ChefAlarm. Checked the calibration on it as well.

Smoked a pork shoulder butt next. The two Brinkmann Temperature bimetal thermometers gave me temperatures of 220-250F during the smoke. The air temperature probe was at 362F. It was a few inches from the side of the roast (near the side of the grate). The meat probe was in the roast monitoring it. When the meat probe got to 195F I pulled it off of the grate and put it into a cooler to rest. The meat turned out to be perfect.

I have ceramic briquettes in the water pan covered in aluminum foil.

I was then wondering why the air temperature probe showed a higher temperature than the Brinkmann Temperature bimetal thermometers.

Yesterday afternoon I lit the smoker not worrying about a desired temperature range. I put the air temperature probe in the middle of the top grate. Next to it I put the meat probe held in place an inch above the grill with a small ball of aluminum foil.