Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How can one apply enough smoke flavor to stuff they Sous Vide?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How can one apply enough smoke flavor to stuff they Sous Vide?

As many of you know I have been having a blast cooking various meats perfectly with my Sous Vide machine. I absolutely love being able to cook stuff to the perfect temperature, as well as cooking stuff at a much lower temperature than normal for a longer period of time to achieve different consistency's I have never tried before. Cooking pork ribs for 36 hours at 145 degrees will give you a completely different texture and taste than cooking it the traditional way. But the only problem is how can one get enough smokey flavor on stuff you want to Sous Vide without overcooking it?

Will a frozen piece of meat adsorb smoke? I figure you could smoke something straight out of the freezer at a lower temperature for a couple of hours without having it in the "Danger Zone" for more than two hours. Then it could be vacuum sealed and cooked Sous Vide. I have heard that frozen meat is difficult to smoke, but would attempting this provide any type of smoke flavor at all, or is it a waste of time? If I smoked it without it being frozen at a lower temperature you would run the risk of having the meat in that "Danger Zone", and I certainly don't want to get anyone sick. I think if I could smoke first, and then finish with Sous Vide I would be able to make some fantastic stuff that simply wouldn't be possible cooking it the traditional way.

So how does one apply enough smoke to meat that you are trying to cook at a lower temperature without overcooking it? Any suggestions or ideas you might have would be appreciated.
    Smoking Salmon the easy way, Smoked Tri Tip, Smoked Baby Back Ribs, Smoked Pork Loin, Apple Smoked Bacon, Slow Cooker Carnitas with Pico de Gallo, Slow Cooker Beef Stew