Anybody play with pressure cookers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anybody play with pressure cookers?

Many of us have started using the Sous Vide method for cooking. I been doing it for almost 3 years now. In my research for recipes I have found that Pressure cookers can do just as good a job as Sous Vide with less time. I do Have a American Standard pressure cooker but the only thing I use it for is pickling. So any experienced pressure cooker people out there and how does it compare to Sous Vide cooking?

PBC Drum Smoker
    Bradley Digital 4 Rack
    THE BIG EASY INFRARED TURKEY FRYER
    Miss Piggy Smoker
    Sedona SD-9000 food dehydrator

I've had a pressure canner/cooker for years but really only use it for canning. I did just pick up an InstantPot on black friday so I'm still learning, but I don't have a sous vide to compare it to.

However I made crack chicken with frozen breasts in 15 minutes last week, so the quick cooking thing is really handy. Especially if I forget to defrost something, I can still throw it in and get dinner in a reasonable amount of time.
    Mike
    Life In Pit Row

Comment

Thanks for the reply. I have a small beef roast I might cut in half and cook one in each, pressure cooker & sous vide method to see what the difference is. I need to research more recipes for beef roasts for the pressure cooker before i continue. The price of beef I don't want to screw up even the cheapest cut of beef LOL

PBC Drum Smoker
      Bradley Digital 4 Rack
      THE BIG EASY INFRARED TURKEY FRYER
      Miss Piggy Smoker
      Sedona SD-9000 food dehydrator

Comment

Originally posted by devo View Post
        Thanks for the reply. I have a small beef roast I might cut in half and cook one in each, pressure cooker & sous vide method to see what the difference is. I need to research more recipes for beef roasts for the pressure cooker before i continue. The price of beef I don't want to screw up even the cheapest cut of beef LOL