Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smoker went out... temp issue

Hey everyone,

So I'm new at this, and of course my old lady needed me to take her somewhere during my first smoke. Started at 8am at 236F... came back at noon(ish) and everything was good. Then I got stuck at her Dad's house because the house next door caught fire... not allowing me to get back until 3ish...great luck on my first smoke, eh?!

When I got back at 3, my flame was out. I checked the internal temp in the center, not the .5inch rule, and it was 95F. I have no clue how long it has been out for, but I know it had a solid few hours at 230-250. The meat in question is a 8lb pork shoulder, and I did inject it. Do you think I am at risk on this meat?

Welcome Kevin!!

Too many unknowns at this end to say for sure one way or another.
    Doesn't sound good.

When in doubt---------------

Bear
    Vietnam Vet---9th Inf. Div. Mekong Delta (1969)
    Easy to follow Step By Steps: Pulled Cured Boston Butt Ham and Buckboard Bacon--Smoked Salmon-- Bacon-On-A-Stick--Bacon (Extra Smokey)--Boneless Cured & Smoked Pork Chops & CB--Canadian Bacon & Dried Beef--Ham Twins (Double Smoked)--Double Smoked Hams X 4--Bear Logs (All Beef--Unstuffed)--Smoked Bear Loaf (All Beef-Mild Hot)--Prime Rib (My Best ever)--Another Prime Rib--Chucky (Pulled Beef)--Twin Chuckies--Pork and Beef Spares--Rare Beef (for Sammies)--Raspberry Chiffon Pie---

Mom & 4 Cub litter---Potter County, PA:

Comment

Thaks! Yeah I'm figuring the worst on this....tough to throw away the first one though. Yeeeesh. Glad I found this forum though! Seems like good people!

Comment

I would not worry and get it cooking again. You have not been in the danger zone very long and since it is to be cooked up to 250ish all will be fine.

Comment

Originally posted by beentown View Post