This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No bark or smoke ring

This isn't quite a urgent situation, but I'm trying to get my ducks in a row before tomorrow.

Bearcarver has inspired me to smoke a chuck roast tomorrow. I am going to marinate it in enchilada sauce and shred the meat for tacos. The problem I am having with smoking anything (beef pork, chicken) is that I can't get any bark or browning on my meat when I smoke, regardless of the temperature the smoker is set. I do know the thermostat is correct on the smoker. I have a Masterbuilt 30 inch electric smoker. After reading posts, I'm thinking that I'm not getting enough air flow. I have the side vent completely open. Should I leave the "plunger" thing out that you use to feed the burner more chips? Would that even make a difference? Do I need to loosed the door to allow for more air circulation? Help please! I'm getting frustrated with the lack of goody on the meat.

I dont have one but i believe with electric smokers its hard to get a smoke ring using chips.It explains what you can do in this article.
    http://amazingribs.com/tips_and_tech...moke_ring.html

I think you just put a small lump of charcoal in with your wood chips to get a smoke ring.

Comment

Electric smokers don't produce much in the way of smoke ring. Here is a thread discussing smoke ring formation.

http://www.smoked-meat.com/forum/showthread.php?t=298

Not sure why you would not get any bark though. What temp do you smoke at? Do you wrap in foil?

Dave
      CUHS Metal Shop Reverse Flow
      UDS 1.0
      Afterburner
      Weber Performer
      Blue Thermapen
      Thermoworks Smoke with Gateway
      Thermoworks Chef Alarm
      Auber Smoker Controller
      Proud Smoked-Meat Member #88
      -
      "All welcome, take what ya need, share what ya know. " -- Richtee, 12/2/2010

Comment

I used to have an MES and never really got a smoke ring or bark, butt they are pretty handy.
        sigpic

Comment