This is a sticky topic.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My CharGriller Mods

Editor's note: Please start another thread with any more tips or questions- the tips can be added to this post if neccessary!

I put together a document on how I did the mods to my CharGriller Smokin' Pros, for those that might be interested. If you have any questions, don't be afraid to ask! Since I put this together, I started playing around with a new charcoal basket idea that is still in the testing stage, so stay tuned...

It is in pdf format:

http://www.hhsbbq.com/CharGrillerMods.pdf
    If this file will not work, it is attached at the end of the article.

Editor's note:
    Fireguy has some additional tips and photos to add-

Originally posted by Fireguy
    Here are the Mods I have done to my CGSP. Some these mods are done by most smokers and some I just thought might help the efficiency of my smoker.

The 1st and most common is the stack extension. You can use a piece of aluminum flex pipe, or what ever you can think up.

Another is the charcoal basket. If your having a hard time hitting higher temps, try this one for sure. It will allow the coals to pull in o2 from underneath and burn more hot. Also, it will allow the ash to drop away from the coals and eliminate them from smothering out. I used a 24x24in piece of expanded metal and a little creativity for mine. You can also buy some pre made basket that will work.

If you live in a cold and windy climate... sometimes it is hard to keep the temps up with this smoker. A fellow smoker gave the idea of having a lip to seal the lid that is often not square anyways to the bottom of the smoke chamber. I have seen many ways of doing this. I have used angle iron and high heat rtv silicone and oven rope gasket to seal mine.

After sealing it up, I experienced an air flow issue. I added a 2nd intake directly above the stock one. After a few smokes I finally got it all figured out and it is smoking great.