Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pork Butt Serving Size question

Guys,

I am a FireFighter and was recently told I was needed to cook for our annual business meeting next month. I am planning on pulled pork, smoked baked beans, cole slaw and a desert. I will be using my newly built fridge smoker which can be seen in the homebuilds section. The question is how many average sized (6-9lbs)boston butts will it take to feed 30-40 people, remember these are not average people but Firefighters.
    Can someone grab me a beer, I am busy watching the smoker!

There are a lot of variables here...tell us are there going to be sides as well? is it being served to them, or will it be set up as a buffet where they serve themselves?

I would figure on at least 1/2 lb each...remember that the yield on a butt is approximately 60% after trimming, and shrinkage. Then I always throw in 10-15% extra just for good measure. Better to have leftovers than people going hungry. Also, if a buffet, set the sides up first and the meat last, so people don't just specialize on the pulled pork.

Just a few thoughts...I'm sure it will be awesome.
    BBQ Eng.

The "Cow Girls" were adopted from the shelter, and found on petfinder.com.
    Adopt a homeless pet - http://www.petfinder.com
    I built the Iron Maiden - Iron Maiden Smoker Build

Over 5000 unreadable posts...Photobucket can kiss my ass...they will never get a dime. I will not pay a ransom.

Comment

I figured 3-8lbs would cover it, like I said in my original post I plan on having cole slaw, smoked baked beans and a dessert. Yes buffet style and we always put the meat last. We have a certified chef that is on our department and is usually the cook although he will be on a cruise this year during the meeting, I am #2.

Comment

Originally posted by BBQ Engineer View Post