Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pellets & quality of smoke????

First post... Hi to all other's who luv good Q

I've been smoking for a few years on Masterbuilt Electric Smoke house. I have been using a AMNPS for a few months, and so far I am not convinced that the smoke is burning properly to give the correct flavors. Using mostly Hickory chips over the years, when I get TBS (thin blue smoke) the smell is clean and sweet. Since smoke is seasoning, that sweet smoke kisses the meat and people love the flavor. Since using pellets, I keep smelling the smoke and it is NOT sweet, in fact the flavors added to the meat are mostly muddled. Understand that I have probably smoked a 200+ racks of ribs and maybe 50 pork butts with hickory chips so I feel pretty dialed in on smoking with chips. I have only done about 15 racks of ribs and 4 pork butts with pellet so that is about 5 different smokes.

I am wondering if the pellets have any kind of binder that might affect the quality of smoke (though I believe I read somewhere there is no binder). So far I have used for pellets, pitmaster blend, and hickory. I'm trying not to stray to far from what has worked for me in the past before the AMNPS.

Anyway, I am looking for tips on how to get TBS with my AMNPS.

Originally posted by bbq-n-pizza View Post
    First post... Hi to all other's who luv good Q