Links 0 Ads 1
Links Ads
More...
Old 08-27-2009, 05:34 PM
Fire Starter

Green Horn Knows How To Maintain A Pit
Default Rump Roast help

Hello all,
As the name suggest I'm new to smoking. So far I've cooked one chuck roast. I thought it turned out pretty well. Even my wife who told me she didn't really like smoked food enjoyed. She liked it enough she bought me a rump roast and wants me to smoke it. I'm in need of your wisdom. What should I use as a rup, how long should I cook it, how long to let it sit afterwards? The roast is 2.5lbs and the smoker I'm using is an entry level Brinkman. Thanks in advance for any guidence you can give me!

Last edited by Green Horn; 08-27-2009 at 05:43 PM.

#ADS  
 is online
Smoked-Meat Ads

Old 08-27-2009, 05:57 PM
Smokin meat Wu-Tang Style

wutang Is  A Name Known To All
wutang Is  A Name Known To Allwutang Is  A Name Known To Allwutang Is  A Name Known To Allwutang Is  A Name Known To Allwutang Is  A Name Known To Allwutang Is  A Name Known To Allwutang Is  A Name Known To Allwutang Is  A Name Known To Allwutang Is  A Name Known To Allwutang Is  A Name Known To Allwutang Is  A Name Known To All

We need a little more info. What texture of final product are you going for? Sliced beef or Pulled/shredded beef? The rump roasts I have done have had enough fat to take to a pulled beef. This means that you will smoke it until it has reached an internal temp of around 200 degrees. The time this takes will vary based on temps. But 60-90 minutes per pound is a fair guidline. I would also wrap it in foil with some liquid once it got above 160-165 degrees internal. The rub is up to you, you could keep it simple with salt, black pepper and some garlic. Or you could get as fancy as you want. And I would let it rest for at least 30-60 minutes before pulling.
KCBS/CBJ #56408

"Sticks and stones will break your bones, but words will always teach you." -Shihan
Old 08-27-2009, 05:59 PM
Smokin meat Wu-Tang Style

wutang Is  A Name Known To All