Posts Polls
Content 0 Files 2
Content Files
Links 0 Ads 1
Links Ads
More...
Old 01-18-2012, 10:58 AM
Pit Master

Bearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To All
Bearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To AllBearcarver Is  A Name Known To All
Default Ham Twins (Double Smoked)

Ham Twins (Double Smoked)

I've been paying a small fortune for Double Smoked Hams for the last 20 years, because they are soooo good, so I finally decided to save a few bucks, and see how it goes.
I think last year's was about 17 pounds for about $55 !!!

Giant had Fully cooked & smoked Shank End Hams for 79 per pound, so I got two of them, about 11 pounds each.

I cut the little bit of skin off the top, and some of the fat (should have cut more fat off).

I set my MES 40 to 200˚, and put each of the Hams in it's own foil pan, supported on their own little wire drying rack (so they don't sit right in the juice).

Then I filled my AMNS with Hickory dust, and we're off to the slow motion races.

Meanwhile I mixed up two different glazes for a test:

Glaze #1
1/2 C of Brown Sugar
1/3 C of Maple Syrup
1/2 tsp of ground mustard
1/8 tsp of ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp of ground ginger
1/8 tsp of ground cloves
Dash of ground nutmeg

Glaze #2
1/2 C of Honey
1/4 C of Balsamic Vinegar
1 tsp of cider vinegar
1 tsp of Worcestershire Sauce
1/2 tsp of garlic powder
1/4 tsp of ground ginger
1/4 tsp of allspice

After 7 hours, the internal temps were identical at 122˚.